Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton Review

Author:
Tessa Gratton

Publication Date:
July 24, 2012

Publisher:
Random House Children’s Books

Format:
Paperback, 432 pages

Price:
CAD $10.99

Source:
A finished copy was provided by Random House Canada for review! Thank you!


Description

A natural next-read for fans of Stephanie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. Instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality. Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can”t stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What”s a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there”s Nick–the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.

About The Author

TESSA GRATTON has wanted to be a paleontologist or a wizard since she was seven. She was too impatient to hunt dinosaurs, but is still searching for someone to teach her magic. After traveling the world with her military family, she acquired a BA (and the important parts of an MA) in Gender Studies, then settled down in Kansas with her partner, her cats, and her mutant dog. You can visit Tessa at tessagratton.com.


Review

There are three viewpoints from this story. One from Silla’s point of view which the entire present is told, one from Nicholas’ point of view and one from the written journal of a woman who practiced blood magic long ago. I love the three viewpoints, it gives the reader the depth and view of different opinions and thoughts that I couldn’t help but praise Tessa Gratton for writing Blood Magic in that format.

Clearly, reading the title alone, I would be witnessed to some magic that is beyond Harry Potter magic. Blood Magic. Yup, to make magic work, blood is needed. How the characters procure this blood made me cringe. Slicing your hand open to turn a dead leaf into a living leaf isn’t something I would want to do. However, the spells that were introduced were all for the good of its people. Not one dark drop of dark magic is practiced here that’s for sure. Except when there’s a good side, there’s also a bad side. And that bad side is in the form of a crazy person that I can’t help but want to help because the character has some mental issues. The plot is original and disturbing (Warning! some scenes could make you a little queasy. Especially if you’re an animal lover. I almost dropped the book reading one disturbing scene…. ), the bad guy is actually revealed so early on due to all the hints the author places, and the characters are your average cliche run-of-the-mill teenagers with a dark and dangerous past.

And as always, I love talking about the characters. My heart goes out to Silla. Here she is just trying to live her teenage life when she can’t, because she is the only one who believes her dad is not the murderer everyone believes he is. Sure, I couldn’t help but scoff at the instant love she has over new boy Nicholas, but I guess teenage hormones get in the way. Especially when said boyfriend knows exactly what you’re going through considering his traumatizing past. Seriously these two teens had such horrible pasts, that I’m surprised they are even attempting to function through high school and all its shortcomings.

Am I going to pick up the next book in this series? Of course. I would love nothing more than to find out what happens next since the series isn’t over.


Rating 4/5


Quotes

“You, in the middle of all those flowers, are the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.”—Nicholas


Giselle San Miguel is a freelance web designer who has a voracious appetite for reading and manages her own book blog at booknerd.ca. She also enjoys writing, design, movies, and photography.